Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

The Professor Frenzy Show

Jan 6, 2021

Hello ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls. Welcome to the 3rd Annual Frenzy Awards for 2020.

The Frenzy Award categories and Nominees are as follows. 

One shots

  • Blue in Green from Image Writer(s) : Ram V. Artist(s) : Anand Rk 
  • Hedra #1 from Image Writer(s) : Jesse Lonergan Artist(s) : Jesse Lonergan
  • Piecemeal from AfterShock Comics Writer(s) : Cullen Bunn Artist(s) : Szymon Kudranski
  • Ice Cream Man Quarantine Comics Special #1 from Image Writer(s) : Maxwell Prince Artist(s) : Martin Morazzo Chris Ohalloran
  • Chilling Adventures of Sabrina Presents Madame Satan One Shot from Archie Comics Writer(s) : Eliot Rahal Artist(s) : Julius Ohta
  • Solid Blood #17 from Image Writer(s) : Robert Kirkman Artist(s) : Ryan Ottley


  • Middlewest from Image Writer(s) : Skottie Young Artist(s) : Jorge Corona Jean-Francois Beaulieu


  • Gideon Falls  from Image Writer(s) : Jeff Lemire Artist(s) : Andrea Sorrentino Dave Stewart


  • Farmhand from Image Writer(s) : Rob Guillory Artist(s) : Rob Guillory
  • Wasted Space from Vault Comics Writer(s) : Michael Moreci Artist(s) : Hayden Sherman
  • Invisible Kingdom from Dark Horse Writer(s) : G. Willow Wilson Artist(s) : Christian Ward
  • Bitter Root from Image Writer(s) : David Walker Chuck Brown Artist(s) : Sanford Greene
  • Crowded from Image Writer(s) : Christopher Sebela Artist(s) : Ro Stein Ted Brandt
  • Ice Cream Man from Image Writer(s) : W. Maxwell Prince Artist(s) : Martin Morazzo Chris OHalloran
  • Fire Power from Image Comics Writer: Robert Kirkman Artists: Matthew Wilson, Chris Samnee



  • Once and Future from BOOM! Studios Writer(s) : Kieron Gillen Artist(s) : Dan Mora


  • Adventureman from Image Writer(s) : Matt Fraction Artist(s) : Terry Dodson Rachel Dodson


New And Notable


  • On the Stump from Image Writer(s) : Chuck Brown Artist(s) : Prenzy


  • Vagrant Queen: Planet Called Doom from Vault Comics Writer(s) : Magdalene Visaggio Artist(s) : Jason Smith
  • Vlad Dracul from Scout Comics Writer: Andrea Mutti, Matteo Struckul Artist: Andrea Mutti
  • Department of Truth from Image Writer(s) : James Tynion IV Artist(s) : Martin Simmonds 
  • Join the Future from AfterShock Comics Writer(s) : Zack Kaplan Artist(s) : Piotr Kowalski
  • Dark Red from AfterShock Comics Writer(s) : Tim Seeley Artist(s) : Corin Howell
  • Family Tree from Image Writer(s) : Jeff Lemire Artist(s) : Phil Hester Various



  • Red Mother from BOOM! Studios writer(s) : Jeremy Haun Artist(s) : Danny Luckert


  • Resonant from Vault Comics Writer(s) : David Andry Artist(s) : Skylar Patridge


  • Crossover from Image Writer(s) : Donny Cates Artist(s) : Geoff Shaw
  • Red Atlantis from AfterShock Comics Writer(s) : Stephanie Phillips Artist(s) : Robert Carey
  • Sabrina, the Teenage Witch: Something Wicked from Archie Comics Writer(s) : Kelly Thompson Artist(s) : Veronica Fish



  • Heist, or How to Steal a Planet from Vault Comics Writer(s) : Paul Tobin Artist(s) : Arjuna Susini


  • Billionaire Island from Ahoy Comics Writer(s) : Mark Russell Artist(s) : Steve Pugh


Horror Comics

  • The Plot from Vault Comics Writer(s) : Michael Moreci Tim Daniel Artist(s) : Josh Hixson
  • Tales from Harrow County Death's Choir - from Dark Horse Writer(s) : Cullen Bunn Artist(s) : Naomi Franquiz
  • Something is Killing the Children from BOOM! Studios Writer(s) : James Tynion IV Artist(s) : Werther Dell Edera


  • The Autumnal from Vault Comics Writer(s) : Daniel Kraus Artist(s) : Chris Shehan


  • Mirka Andolfo's Mercy from Image Writer(s) : Mirka Andolfo Artist(s) : Mirka Andolfo
  • Hotell from AWA Writer(s) : John Lees Artist(s) : Dalibor Talajic



Where did this come from?


  • Grendel Kentucky from AWA Writer(s) : Jeff McComsey Artist(s) : Tommy Lee Edwards


  • Finger Guns from Vault Comics Writer(s) : Sabs Cooper Justin Richards Artist(s) : Val Halvorson
  • King of Nowhere from BOOM! Studios Writer(s) : Maxwell Prince Artist(s) : Tyler Jenkins
  • Scumbag from Image Writer(s) : Rick Remender Artist(s) : Moreno DiNisio Eric Powell
  • Olympia from Image Writer(s) : Curt Pires Tony Pires Artist(s) : Alex Diotto Dee Cunniffe
  • Stealth   from Image Writer(s) : Mike Costa Artist(s) : Nate Bellegarde Tamra Bonvillain



Cuspie award 

For the Cusp award we are each remembering a book that got short changed in last year's awards because of their release dates between 2019 and 2020

Favorite Overall

The winners here aren’t necessarily the winners of their category. They can be excellent and transcend the category.