Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

The Professor Frenzy Show

Dec 29, 2021

The categories for the 4th Annual Frenzy Awards for 2021 are:

  • Single Publications - which are books of any length that are released as one issue. Can be a one shot comic, trade, or published book.
  • Ongoing Comic Books - which are books that are longer form and might have a significant portion of their story prior to 2021 and/or are continuing on beyond. Typically 8+ issues.
  • New and Notable Comic Books - Comics that have started in 2021 and have either concluded, or completed a significant story arc. Typically around 4 to 6 issues
  • Horror Comics - Anything horror, we love horror comics
  • Where Did This Come From? Comics - A book that came out of nowhere for us and surprised us.
  • The Cuspie Award or the Cuspies - A book released on the cusp of 2020 and 2021, that may have primarily been published in 2020 but didn’t finish a significant arc and be a contender in last year’s awards. Or a book that is being published now but hasn’t finished a significant story arc. These are books that can sometimes be forgotten at the end of the year.

One shots

  • Eden (One Shot) from AfterShock Comics | Writer(s): Cullen Bunn | Artist(s): Dakbor Talajic
  • God of Tremors (one shot) from AfterShock Comics  (W) Peter Milligan (A) Piotr Kowalski (Colors) Brad Simpson (L) Simon Bowland
  • Lugosi: The Rise and Fall of Hollywood’s Dracula from Humanoids Inc | Story and Art by Koren Shadmi | Letters by Tom Napolitano
  • 10 Years to Death (One Shot) from Aftershock | Writer: Aaron Douglas | Art: Cliff Richards | Colors: Guy Major | Letters: Dave Sharpe
  • After Dark (One Shot) from AfterShock Comics | Writer(s): Various | Artist(s): Various
  • She Could Fly Vol 3 Fight Or Flight TP from Dark Horse | Writer(s): Christopher Cantwell | Artist(s): Martin Morazzo
  • Rainbow Bridge YA graphic novel  from Seismic Press/AfterShock Comics (W) Steve Orlando, Steve Foxe; (A) Valentina Brancati


The Frenzy Award nominees for Ongoing comic books are:

  • Department Of Truth from Image | Writer(s): James Tynion IV | Artist(s): Martin Simmonds
  • Stillwater from Image | Writer(s): Chip Zdarsky | Artist(s): Ramon K. Perez Mike Spicer
  • Resonant from Vault Comics | Writer(s): David Andry | Artist(s): Skylar Patridge
  • Sabrina The Teenage Witch Something Wicked from Archie Comics | Writer(s): Kelly Thompson | Artist(s): Veronica Fish Andy Fish
  • A Man Among Ye from Image/Top Cow | Writer(s): Stephanie Phillips | Artist(s): Josh George John Kalisz
  • Beasts Of Burden Occupied Territory from Dark Horse | Writer(s): Evan Dorkin Sarah Dyer | Artist(s): Benjamin Dewey
  • Once & Future from BOOM! Studios Writer: Kieron Gillen Artist: Dan Mora
  • Fire Power from Image Comics | Writer(s): Robert Kirkman | Artist(s): Chris Samnee, Matthew Wilson
  • Radiant Black from Image Comics Writer:  Kyle Higgins; Artist: Marcelo Costa 
  • Crossover from Image Comics Writer: Donny Cates Art:Geoff Shaw, Dee Cunniffe and John J. Hill.  


  • So Chris, who does your Frenzy for an ongoing comic book go to?

New And Notable

The Frenzy Award nominees for New and Notable comic books are:


  • HAHA from Image | Writer(s): W. Maxwell Prince | Artist(s): Vanesa R. Del Rey


  • Second Coming Only Begotten Son from Ahoy Comics | Writer(s): Mark Russell | Artist(s): Richard Pace Leonard Kirk | Colors: Andy Troy | Letters” Rob Steen
  • Silver Coin from Image | Writer(s): Chip Zdarsky | Artist(s): Michael Walsh
  • Many Deaths Of Laila Starr from BOOM! Studios | Writer(s): Ram V. | Artist(s): Filipe Andrade
  • The Good Asian from Image Comics | Writer: Pornsak Pichetshote; | Artist: Alexandre Tefenkgi | Colors: Lee Loughridge | Letters: Jeff Powell
  • Not All Robots from AWA/Upshot| Artists | Writers & Artisans | Writer(s): Mark Russell | Artist(s): Mike Deodato Jr


  • Happy Hour from Ahoy Comics (W) Peter Milligan (A) Michael Montenat  
  • Moths from AWA/Upshot (W) J. Michael Straczynski (A) Mike Choi 
  • Shadecraft from Image Comics (W) Joe Henderson (A) Lee Garbett    


Horror Comics

The Frenzy Award nominees in the Horror comics category are:


  • The Me You Love In The Dark from Image | Writer(s): Skottie Young | Artist(s): Jorge Corona


  • Deadbox from Vault Comics | Writer(s): Mark Russell | Artist(s): Ben Tiesma
  • Autumnal from Vault Comics | Writer(s): Daniel Kraus | Artist(s): Chris Shehan
  • Something Is Killing The Children from BOOM! Studios | Writer(s): James Tynion IV | Artist(s): Werther Dell Edera
  • Proctor Valley Road from BOOM! Studios | Writer(s): Alex Child Grant Morrison | Artist(s): Naomi Franquiz
  • Midnight Western Theater from Scout Comics | Writer(s): Louis Southard | Artist(s): David Hahn
  • Blacks Myth from Ahoy Comics | Writer(s): Eric Palicki | Artist(s): Wendell Cavalcanti
  • Tales From Harrow County Fair Folk from Dark Horse | Writer(s): Cullen Bunn | Artist(s): Emily Schnall | Letters: Tyler Crook
  • Bunny Mask from AfterShock Comics | Writer(s): Paul Tobin | Artist(s): Andrea Mutti | Letters: Taylor Esposito
  • Eat the Rich from BOOM! Studios - Writer:  Sarah Gailey; Art:  Pius Bak


Where did this come from?

The Frenzy Award nominees for the Where did this come from? Comic books are:


  • Echolands from Image Comics (W) J. H. Williams, Haden Blackman (A) J. H. Williams, Dave Stewart


  • Karmen from Image | Writer(s): Guillem March | Artist(s): Guillem March
  • Vinyl from Image | Writer(s): Doug Wagner | Artist(s): Daniel Hillyard | Colors: Dave Stewart | Letters: Ed Dukeshire
  • Crimson Flower from Dark Horse | Writer(s): Matt Kindt | Artist(s): Matt Lesniewski | Colors: Bill Crabtree
  • Stray Dogs from Image Comics (W) Tony Fleecs (A) Trish Forstner   
  • Bermuda from IDW Publishing (W) John Layman; (A) Nick Bradshaw 
  • Minky Woodcock: The Girl Who Electrified Tesla from Titan Comics (W) Cynthia Von Buher  (A)  Cynthia Von Buhler